View Former Presidents
About GBM
» Current Elected Body
» Nominated Body
» Patron
» Live Members
Read more
Current Activities
» Blood Donation Camp
» Cultural Programs
» Financial Help
» Construction
» Academic Scholarship
» Honour to Senior Citizens
Useful Links
» Education
» Current News
» Matrimonial
» GBM News & Events
About Uttarakhand
» Uttarakhand History
» Fair & Festivals
» Art & Culture
» Handicraft
» Food & Cuisines
» Chardham Yatra
About Uttrakhand
Chardham Yatra
Chardham Yatra are the very sacred places at Uttarakhand in India.  According to the Hindu scriptures, the holy centers of Gangotri, Yamunotri, Badrinath and Kedarnath - collectively called the Chardham Yatra (meaning the four sacred spots) - Chardham Yatra India are the most sacred of all the pilgrimages. Undertaking a journey to Chardham Yatra will not just wash away one's sins but ensure release from the cycle of birth and death. The honor conferred on Chardham Yatra India is not surprising.

For one, they are all in the icy Garhwal ranges and regarded as the most sacred of all Himalayan ranges. It is also said that heaven and earth converge in these holy spots, and to be born or die here is a boon only the very fortunate have. The Chardham Yatra India must be visited from left to right - beginning of Chardham Yatra with Yamunotri, going on to Gangotri, Kedarnath and culminating the journey at Badrinath. This route follows the Hindu tradition of parikrama or clockwise circumambulation For Religious Chardham Yatra India. For ancient time Chardham Yatra India encouraged every Hindu to take a Chardham Yatra to attain salvation in life. Thousands of devotees visit these shrines with profound religious feeling from all over the world every year. The Chardham Yatra have been described in scriptures as the sacred places where the visitors could earn the virtues of all the pilgrimages put together. Chardham yatra mainly covers the four most popular pilgrimage destinations of India. Over the years, the term "Chardham Yatra" has lent itself to the all-denomination Chardham pilgrimages in the Garhwal Himalayas, where Adi Shankaracharya attained freedom from embodiment. The Chardham Yatra are often considered the most revered sites for Hindus that have to be visited in one's lifetime.

About the Chardham Yatra India
Every Year Chardham Yatra India are open for the general public from first week of May till November depending upon the weather conditions in the region. Chardham Yatra India are four shrines remain closed due to heavy snowfall in the region during December to April. Every Year Millions of Peoples visit Chardham Yatra India. Thousands of NRI Peoples also visit Chardham Yatra India. Mainly Chardham Yatra India Starts From Delhi, Haridwar & Rishikesh.
Temples For Chardham Yatra India
1. Badrinath
2. Kedarnath
3. Gangotri
4. Yamunotri
Yamunotri :
Yamunotri is the First destinations of Chardham Yatra India & the source of the Yamuna River and the seat of the goddess Yamuna, is one of the four sites in India's Chardham Yatra India. Yamunotri Temple was built by Maharani Guleria of Jaipur during 19th century. The temple at Yamunotri (3,291 m) stands on the western edge of the Bandarpoochh peak (6,315 m) in Garhwal Himalayas. The temple is an idol of Goddess Yamuna carved in black stone that is mainly worshipped. A hot water pool at Yamunotri is used for the preparation of Prasad, normally rice and potatoes, cooked by dipping them in the hot water, tied in cloth bags. The shrine can also be visited via Mussoorie and Barkot.
More about Yamunotri...
Gangotri :
Gangotri is the second destinations of Chardham Yatra India. Gangotri is sacred shrine, situated at an altitude of 3200 mt is the source of the river Bhagirathi in Uttarkashi district in the state of Uttarakhand, India. Gangotri, the pleasing pilgrimage of chardham Yatra India in the lap of the Himalayas is the most blessed destination where Ganga, the river of life, feels the ground for the first time. According to an old legend, Lord Shiva rewarded King Bhagirath after his penance and Ganga came down to earth. This is why Ganga is also called by the name of Bhagirathi. The aarti ceremony at the Gangotri is especially impressive, as is the temple, a stately affair that sits on the banks of the rushing Ganga (Ganges River). Adventurous pilgrims can make an overnight 17 km trek to Gaumukh, the actual current source of the Ganga.
More about Gangotri...
Kedarnath :
Kedarnath is the Third destinations of Chardham Yatra India. Kedarnath is the seat of Lord Shiva. It is one of the twelve "Jyotirlingas" of Lord Shiva. It is positioned at an elevation of 3584m near the origin of Mandakini river, in the Garwhal Himalayas of Rudraprayag district of Uttarakhand. The temple of Kedarnath is amongst the most venerated by Hindu pilgrims of Chardham Yatra India. The present temple at Kedarnath traces its origins to the 8th century, having been resurrected by Adi Guru Shankaracharya. It stands adjacent to the site of an ancient temple built by the Pandavas. The samadhi or final resting place of Shankaracharya is behind the temple.
More about Kedarnath...
Badrinath :
Badrinath is the Fourth destinations of Chardham Yatra India. Badrinath is the most important of the four sites in India’s Chardham Yatra India. Badrinath the place of the God Vishnu in his aspect of Badrinarayan, is the main of the four Dhams in India's Chardham Yatra India. It is located in the Garhwal hills, on the banks of the Alaknanda River. Badrinath was established as a major pilgrimage site by Adi Shankara in the ninth century. The Badrinath Temple, built by Adi Shankar in the 9th century, is the place where you should be reaching this place. Out of the numerous murtis present in this temple, the most important one is that of Lord Vishnu carved of black stone. The temple is simply magnificent in its style and architecture.
More about Badrinath...
HomeAbout GBMAbout UttrakhandArticles Constitution Photo Gallery DownloadsContact Us
Copyright © 2014-15 Garhdesiya Bharatri Mandal (Regd) Designed & Maintained by India infonet